top of page

Day 5 | It's All About the Gala

This day was a roller coaster. It began with a grueling walk through DC in the blistering heat and my blistered feet thanks to my new heels. The majority of the time I stuck with a group of a few friends, and we pretty much wandered around DC. The first thing we did was hunt down a Dunkin' Donuts in order to avoid the heat of July, and this little hunt led us on an adventure to the Library of Congress. We followed a fellow red group member named Nina (yes, my same name) who had directions on her maps app. It was pretty funny because right when we walk in the security guard stopped us and asked if we knew where we were and right when we said Dunkin' Donuts it was as if he just knew. Although the "adventure" sounds small, it was just so much fun to walk off with a group of unlikely friends to hunt down some cold drinks in the basement of, of all paces, the Library of Congress.

*Pictured above, from left to right, is: Khalil, Sam, Claire, (me), Megan, Duncan, and Nina. We were on our way out to attend scheduled appointments/tours when we saw this incredible statue of James Madison ( I think that's right) and knew we needed a group photo with him.

However, after that great start to the day it went downhill. My heels dug into my ankles and practically tore about my feet. My friend Claire and I bother were suffering to the point where we wanted to cry. And on top of that mess, the pain began right before our visit of the Holocaust Museum.So the tour of the Holocaust Museum was painful in more ways than one, but sadly my group went through quickly in the anticipation of just getting out. Shortly after that incident the DC part of the ended and we all came back to the GMU campus to get ready for the famous Gala. Honestly I didn't know what to expect, but even if I had made expectations they would have been surpassed immensely. The Gala food was delicious and then the actual dancing was so much fun. The red group stuck together while dancing, occasionally breaking off to dance with others or to include someone else. The DJ played mediocre music, but I still had a better time than prom with these people who I had just met a few days ago. Isn't that crazy to think about? These people were complete strangers to me Sunday, and on Thursday we're all dancing together and having the best time of our lives. I didn't believe anyone when they said that our color groups would become our family, yet by the third day in I was already feeling the family bonds and by today we were a family. These friendships I have made were completely unexpected but I am so grateful that I have made them and I hope I never lose those connections. These friendships are what made this day incredible, and to help you understand just how good of a mood that put me in, it is currently 3:43 am when I am typing this. I'm not even tired. All the energy from this entire week is just hitting me right now, and I'm enjoying it. Tomorrow I'll probably cry while hugging everyone goodbye, and then I will sleep the entire ride home. I'll end this here and try to finish packing, maybe finish this box of Cheez-its, who really knows.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page